Skip to main content

About Us

Allamakee Community School District has an enrollment of 1,094 students and employs about 200 staff members. All school buildings are located in Waukon, Iowa, which has a population of 3,900 friendly people and is the county seat. The district stretches from the northwest corner of Allamakee County and the town of Dorchester to the southeast corner of the county, including Effigy Mounds National Monument and the communities of Waterville, Rossville, and Harpers Ferry.  Recreational opportunities abound in the area with a golf course and municipal swimming pool, trout streams and the Mississippi River running through the district. We have excellent educational facilities and our kids are second to none.